Kingstone fc are the new Kothbiro champions and with their win against Allin Jua Kali, they lift the first title in the new season edition.

Kingstone won the match 7-6 through post-match penalties also a first in the last decade. The match was tied 2-2 in regulation time. The finals witnessed by thousands at the traditional Ziwani Sports grounds, was full of thrilling action both on and off the field on Saturday evening.

The match started on a high with both sides going for the neck and showing their intent early on. This went on well with the crowd with both teams with a thousand plus supporters each baying for blood. It was Allin who got to the jugular first through Evans Juma who hit a rebound in the 20’ for a superb goal.

19 minutes later a hard fighting Kingstone pulled back through a strong header courtesy of Kelwish Walubukha. The referee’s half-time whistle came in time to ease tensions andexcitement.

The second half started also on a high as the horns interlocked for a final push for glory. The carnivores from Shauri moyo quickly got to the score line as Walubukha’s cross connected excellently to Chrispinus  Onyago’s head for their second goal.

A resilient Allin were not unsettled but pushed forward and the spanner boys equalised in the 68’ through Walcott Walla’s free-kick thunderbolt that got the goal of the day accolade.

The SportPesa sponsored annual tournament went down to the penalties after the ref’s end of regulation time.

Maina Hussein, Waka Nelson, Oreso Kevin, Eugene Oduor,Brian Ochieng, Juma Casillas (GK) and Murithi Christopher scored for Kingstone while Steven Otieno’s kick was saved.

Allin’s scorers included: Ochieng Brian,Rafael Ndukwe,Derric Abdundo, David Kioko, Rich Donald, Omondi Victor (GK) while Mika Odhiambo and Abura Odhiambo spot kicks were blocked.

Kingstone lifted the coveted trophy courtesy of Pamojah movement and danced away with three hundred thousand shillings courtesy of tournament sponsors SportPesa, the leading entertainment and Technology Company.

Ali Jua Kali walked away a hundred thousand shillings and a Trophy courtesy of Nelson Madagwa. MASA who beat Umeme Bees for the third best team took home Nelson’s trophy and seventy five thousand while the Bees received fifty thousand shillings. All cash awards courtesy of SportPesa.

Meanwhile in the Individual category awards winners were also rewarded. 3 winners were awarded ten thousand shillings each courtesy of youth president Karen Nyamu. Francis Omondi of Borrusia took the golden boot with 5 clean goals while Keith Imbali clinched the MVP’s award. Both also received trophies courtesy of Pamojah movement. Evans Mieno of Umeme Bees took home the most promising player token.

The most outstanding player award a ten thousand shilling cash token courtesy of Street Radio was shared between Kingstone’s Hussein Maina and Allin’s George Odhiambo.

The Arnold Origi golden gloves award was entrusted in the safe hands of Borrusia’s  Job Ochieng. He will also receive a pair of gloves from the Finland based former Kenya number 1.

The finals fete was graced by tens of personalities including; football leaders  FKF represented by Dickson Doyo and KEFWA represented by Jerry Santos, top coaches, top footballers,  Celebrities and Politicians including Karen Nyamu, Patricia Mutheu, Millicent Mugandi, Paul ‘Petit’ Ndungu and Cyrus Omondi.

Tanzania’s Ndondo Cup sent a high powered delegation including its CEO Shaffih Dauda. Plans are in advanced stage for the winners of Kothbiro to play against Ndondo Cup winners.

The formerly traditional December Kothbiro season will be taken over by Kothbiro B which will be an Under 23 tournament.

Comment List

Leave a Reply